Saturday 27 August 2022 3:00 pm

A Polish Rossini and a French Mozart

Poznań Philharmonic Orchestra
Jakub Drygas · clarinet
Łukasz Borowicz · onductor

Karol Kurpiński ∙ Symphony ”The Battle of Mozhaysk“
Karol Kurpiński ∙ Clarinet Concerto in B♭ major
Étienne-Nicolas Méhul ∙ Symphony no. 1 in G minor

Besides Pyotr Tchaikovsky (“1812”), the Varsovian court music and opera house director Karol Kurpiński also dealt with Napoleon’s battles in Russia, which he witnessed first hand when the French troops swept eastwards and then back again through Warsaw. As Polish patriots took Napoleon’s side, Kurpińskis battle opus does not show any signs of spitefulness or triumph. The one-movement clarinet concerto also written by Kurpiński, a sonata allegro with three artfully developed motifs, is a virtuoso and expressive piece. Like François-Joseph Gossec, Étienne-Nicolas Méhul is recognised as one of the French Revolution’s preferred composers. His symphony combines refined French style with dramatic contrast and ends in a thrilling finale.

Subject to change!

Tickets 36 € · 29 € · 24 € · 16 € · 14 € · 12 € plus 10% advance booking fee
Ticket discount 3 €