Select your language

Sunday 25 August 2024  3 pm

Final Concert 2024

Rundfunk-Sinfonieorchester Berlin
Amira Abouzahra  violin
Vladimir Jurowski  director
Peter Gülke  Introduction to the concert programme. The number of participants is limited. Therefore we ask for registration

Johannes Brahms (1833 – 1897)  Variations on a theme by Joseph Haydn in B flat major op. 56a
Felix Mendelssohn Bartholdy (18091847)  Violin Concerto in E minor op. 64 (1844)
Johannes Brahms (1833 – 1897)  Symphonie Nr. 1 c-Moll op. 68 (1857 – 1859)

With Beethoven as an overwhelming and intimidating model, it took Brahms until the age of 43 to write his first symphony. Like the famous Haydn Variations is a work that sharpened his tools and paved the way for his approach to the symphonic genre. About Mendelssohn’s violin concerto in E minor, Arnold Schönberg wrote: “In its fortunate combination of noble virtuosity and the poetic significance of its contents, it is unsurpassed to this day.” Its sparing use of musical resources and its delicate, almost Mozart-like orchestral setting have made it a lasting favourite of both audiences and violinists. Shooting star Amira Abouzahra has selected this work for her debut at Choriner Musiksommer.

Subject to change

Tickets 40 €  33 €  28 €  19 €  14 €  12 € plus 10% advance booking fee
Discounts 3 €
Price categories 1 to 6: Description and seating plan

Please book wheelchair places with accompaniment and free tickets for children up to 6 years of age on the lawn by telephone on 03334 818472 weekdays until 4 pm, or by email to: This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it..