Saturday · 28 August 2021 · 3:00 pm and 6:00 pm

European diversity

Berliner Symphoniker
Thomas Hennig · conductor

Felix Mendelssohn Bartholdy ∙ String Symphony no. 2 in D major
Giacomo Puccini ∙ Crisantemi
Edvard Grieg ∙ From Holberg’s Time - Suite in Olden Style op. 40
Antonín Dvořák ∙ String Serenade in E major op. 22
Joaquín Rodrigo ∙ Zarabanda lejana

“Who can recount, what tongue can name, the tribes of guests that hither came?” it says in Friedrich Schiller’s ballad The Cranes of Ibycus. Well, when they come to Chorin, it won’t be from the shores of Greece but by invitation from the Berliner Symphoniker orchestra, who will turn the scores they brought as gifts into divine and enjoyable sounds. Take, for example, Felix Mendelssohn Bartholdy’s uplifting 2nd string symphony, or Edvard Grieg’s suite From Holberg’s Time, which combines baroque elements with modern stylistic devices. Antonín Dvořák’s cheerful String Serenade in E major breathes the scent of Bohemian woods and meadows, while Joaquín Rodrigo’s tender and tranquil Zarabanda lejana radiates a lot of Spanish flair.

Tickets: 36 € · 29 € · 19 € plus 10% advance booking fee
Subject to change!

Tickets RESERVIX 3:00 pm  Tickets RESERVIX 6:00 pm