Select your language

Sunday  18 August 2024  3pm

Musical images of nature

Brandenburg State Orchestra Frankfurt
Jakob Eschenburg  timpani
Robert Reimer  director

Richard Wagner (1813 – 1883)  Siegfried Idyll Symphonic poem for chamber orchestra (1870)
Siegfried Matthus (1934 – 2021)  Der Wald Concerto for timpani and orchestra (1985)
Ludwig van Beethoven (1770 – 1827)  Symphony No. 6 in F major op. 68 (1807/08) „Pastorale“

The Siegfried Idyll music was a birthday present from Wagner to his wife Cosima; a token of love under happy circumstances, as its original title, “Tribschen idyll with Fidi birdsong and an orange sunrise”, suggests. Still, there are unmistakeable similarities to his opera Siegfried. By contrast, Siegfried Matthus, in Der Wald (The Forest), uses his musical devices to convey the idea of how nature is endangered and prone to destruction. Beethoven’s love of nature is well documented. “Truly, it is as if every country tree was speaking to me: sacred, so sacred! The forest, what delight! Who could even express it all?” He tried and gave lasting shape to his feelings in the Pastorale symphony.

Subject to change

Tickets 36 €  29 €  24 €  16 €  14 €  12 € plus 10% advance booking fee
Discounts 3 €
Price categories 1 to 6: Description and seating plan

Please book wheelchair places with accompaniment and free tickets for children up to 6 years of age on the lawn by telephone on 03334 818472 weekdays until 4 pm, or by email to: This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it..