Sunday 16 July 2023 3:00 pm

A female Beethoven meets the original

Brandenburgisches Staatsorchester Frankfurt
Tianwa Yang · violin
Jörg-Peter Weigle · conductor

Emilie Mayer ∙ Symphony No. 5 in F minor
Ludwig van Beethoven ∙ Violin Concerto D major op. 61

Neither the famous encyclopedia “Music in History and Present” nor the renowned Riemannsches Musiklexikon know about the existence of the composer Emilie Mayer. Nevertheless, she lived from 1812 to 1883, composed diligently and enriched musical life in Szczecin and Berlin through frequent performances of her works. She was dubbed the “female Beethoven” for her affinity to the composer’s style but after her death was quickly forgotten and not rediscovered until about twenty years ago. Her last one, side by side with the only violin concerto by her model Beethoven.

Subject to change!

Tickets 36 € · 29 € · 24 € · 16 € · 14 € · 12 € plus 10% advance booking fee
Discount per ticket 3 €