Saturday • 26. June 2021 • 3:00 pm 6:00 pm

Opening concert 

Philharmonic Orchestra of the Staatstheater Cottbus
Alexander Merzyn • conductor

Maurice Ravel · Le tombeau de Couperin
Symphony no. 3 in E♭ major op. 55 “Eroica”

Our season opener, Beethoven’s Eroica symphony, is a work that since its inception in 1803-04 has been regarded a turning point not only in the composer’s own artistic development but in music history as a whole. Putting formalism aside, it radiates Beethoven’s pugnacious attitude, ethical grandeur and the breath of a struggling personality in its homage to heroism and its famous funeral march. Mourning is also the theme of Ravel’s four-movement suite Le Tombeau de Couperin (Couperin’s tomb), which will open the concert. It pays homage not only to Couperin, the baroque composer, but to French music of the 18th century as well. At the same time, the movements commemorate the composer’s fellows who died in World War I.

Tickets: 36 € · 29 € · 19 € plus 10% advance booking fee
Subject to change!

Tickets 3:00 pm  Tickets 6:00 pm