Saturday · 19 August 2023 · 3:00pm

Austrian delicacies

Orchestra of the Komische Oper Berlin
Felix Nickel · violoncello
Hermann Bäumer · conductor

Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart · “Posthorn” Serenade no. 9 in D major KV 320
Friedrich Gulda · Concerto for Violoncello and Brass Orchestra
Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart · Symphony No. 40 in G minor KV 550

The seven-movement “Posthorn” Serenade is the last of its kind that Mozart composed in 1779 in his native city of Salzburg as a commissioned work on a festive occasion. It is dedicated to the students of Salzburg University, who then performed it outdoors to celebrate their graduation before returning home, and it belongs to a category that might be called “finale music” and was common at the time. Almost ten years later, now in Vienna, Mozart wrote his Symphony no. 40 in G minor whose melancholic mood is compellingly beautiful and has made it one of the composer’s most popular orchestral works today. Friedrich Gulda’s Cello Concerto, composed in 1980, stands between these two classical works – an original and ludicrously virtuoso crossover between funky rock, a pinch of jazz and a final alpine melody.

Subject to change!

Tickets: 36 € · 29 € · 24 € · 16 € · 14 € · 12 € plus 10% advance booking fee
Ticket discount 3 €

Tickets Reservix