Sunday • 28. August 20223:00 pm

Final concert

Rundfunk-Sinfonieorchester Berlin
Konstanze von Gutzeit · violoncello
Vladimir Jurowski · conductor

Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart ∙ Overture to the dramma giocoso “Don Giovanni“ KV 527
Joseph Haydn ∙ Cello Concerto no. 1 in C major Hob. VIIb:1
Franz Schubert ∙ ”Great“ Symphony in C major D 944

Wrapping up the Choriner Musiksommer, RSB’s concert programme exclusively strives to explore the realm of the heroes and disciples of that musical era called the First Viennese School. With a powerful and threatening motif, the overture to Mozart’s Don Giovanni starts the dramatic events to come. Until 1967, Haydn’s Cello Concerto in C major was considered lost. Only when a copy of the parts was found in Prague, the score could be reconstructed. Schubert’s “Great” symphony, by contrast, was never forgotten. Dedicated to the Viennese Society of Friends of Music in 1826, it was rehearsed a year later but not performed during Schubert’s remaining lifetime. The reason: it was considered to difficult and too long at the time.

Subject to change!

Tickets 36 € · 29 € · 24 € · 16 € · 14 € · 12 € plus 10% advance booking fee
Ticket discount 3 €