Friday 23. June 20237:00 pm

Opening concert

Rundfunk-Sinfonieorchester Berlin
Karina Canellakis · conductor

Leoš Janáček ∙ “Žárlivost” (Jealousy) – Orchestral Prelude to the opera “Jenůfa”
Antonín Dvořák ∙ Symphony no. 7 in D minor op. 70

With his third opera Jenůfa, a dark tale of infanticide, jealousy and redemption, Leoš Janáček achieved his breakthrough as an opera composer. Since its premiere at the Brno National Theater in 1904, the drama about the fate of a sacristan and her foster daughter has been one of the composer’s most frequently performed works and became the Moravian national opera at some point. Its original overture was eventually discarded but lives on as a concert piece entitled Jealousy. Slightly contrasting, the 7th symphony by fellow Czech composer Antonín Dvořák is also dark and harsh, passionate and yet pervaded by friendly, lyrical passages – an emotional Slavic summit meeting to start Choriner Musiksommer’s 60th season.

Subject to change!

Tickets 36 € · 29 € · 24 € · 16 € · 14 € · 12 € plus 10% advance booking fee
Ticket discount 3 €