Select your language

Saturday 22 June 2024 3 pm

Opening concert 2024
On the occasion of Anton Bruckner’s 200th anniversary

Philharmonic Orchestra of the Staatstheater Cottbus
Michael Stodd trumpet

Alexander Merzyn  conductor
Peter Gülke  concert introduction

Georg Philipp Telemann (1681 – 1767)  Concerto for Trumpet No. 1 in D major (c. 1708 –1714)
Anton Bruckner (1824 – 1896)  Symphony No. 5 in B♭ major (1875 – 1876, rev. 1877/78)

We launch the 2024 Choriner Musiksommer with the works of two men who, each in his own way, advanced orchestral music in their day. Telemann, being a Baroque composer, brought splendour and virtuosity to the trumpet, which was hardly ever asked for as a solo instrument until the beginning of the 18th century. Bruckner, a man of the late romantic era, elevated the symphonic genre to an exalted and monumental undertaking. By performing his Fifth, we will celebrate the composer’s 200th anniversary. Also, we would like to honour Peter Gülke for his merits as a conductor and musicologist. On the occasion of his 90th birthday, he is going to appear in several events in excactly these roles. On the opening day, he will give the introduction.

Subject to change

Tickets 40 €  33 €  28 €  19 €  14 €  12 € plus 10% advance booking fee
Discounts 3 €
Price categories 1 to 6: Description and seating plan

Please book wheelchair places with accompaniment and free tickets for children up to 6 years of age on the lawn by telephone on 03334 818472 weekdays until 4 pm, or by email to: This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it..