Select your language

Sunday 11 August 2024  3 pm

Johannes Brahms and ‘Father Haydn’

Staatskapelle Weimar
Sir Andras Schiff  piano
Peter Gülke  director
Peter Gülke  Introduction to the work, before the concert, limited number of participants, registration required

Joseph Haydn (1732 – 1809)  Symphony No. 102 in B♭ major (1794)
Johannes Brahms (1833 – 1897)  Piano Concerto No. 1 in D minor op. 15 (1854 – 1857)

“His genius is inexhaustible. With regard to harmony, melody, passion and effect, he is unrivalled at all.” This statement was made on the 1795 premiere of Haydn’s B♭ major symphony in London, but it may also be claimed true of Johannes Brahms, for the composers are connected musically in many ways. From a young age, Brahms studied and performed Haydn’s works both as a chamber musician and as a conductor. His piano concerto is a considerable challenge to pianists, with the soloist and the orchestra facing off on equal footing and complementing each other in a musical drama of symphonic dimensions.

Subject to change

Tickets 39 €  32 €  27 €  19 €  14 €  12 € plus 10% advance booking fee
Discounts 3 €
Price categories 1 to 6: Description and seating plan

Please book wheelchair places with accompaniment and free tickets for children up to 6 years of age on the lawn by telephone on 03334 818472 weekdays until 4 pm, or by email to: This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it..