Sunday · 21 August 2022 · 3:00 pm

Romantic from the Old and the New World

Gorzòw Philharmonic Orchestra
Camille Thomas, Artist in Residence · violoncello
Pawel Przytocki · conductor

Józef Elsner · Leszek the White - Overture
Edward Elgar · Violoncello Concerto in E minor op. 85
Antonín Dvořák · Symphony no. 9 in E minor op. 95 “New World Symphony“

The first drafts of Edward Elgar’s Violoncello Concerto date back to the spring of 1918, when the composer retreated to his country house in Sussex after a tonsillectomy. He resumed work on the rather melancholy piece the following spring. In June 1919 he announced: “I’m terribly busy and have just about finished a cello concerto – a really outstanding piece and a good and lively one at that, I believe.” After Antonín Dvořák had been appointed director of the New York National Conservatory, great hopes were pinned on him. “The Americans expect me to do great things,” he wrote, “above all to show them the way to the Promised Land and the realm of new and independent art. In brief: they want me to compose a national piece of music.” It worked out excellently, and his Symphony no. 9 became just that.

Subject to change!

Tickets: 36 € · 29 € · 24 € · 16 € · 14 € · 12 € plus 10% advance booking fee
Ticket discount 3 €