Samstag · 2. Juli 2022 · 15 Uhr

Spellbound by Arabian Nights

Konzerthausorchester Berlin

Xu Fengxia • zheng
Howard Griffits • conductor

Carl Maria von Weber • Overture to the Comic Opera “Abu Hassan“
Tan Dun • Concerto for Zheng and String Orchestra
Nikolaj Rimski-Korsakow • ”Scheherazade“ op. 35

On his possibly most famous orchestral work Scheherazade, the composer Rimski-Korsakow wrote that, treating the material with great liberty, he wanted to create a four-movement orchestral suite “which, as it were, offers a kaleidoscopic sequence of oriental fairy-tale illustrations”. Scintillating and colourful, these musical pictures describe how Scheherazade succeeds in placating the cruel sultan with her storytelling. Also from the lore of One Thousand and One Nights, the story of Abu Hassan, protégé of Harun al Raschid, the Caliph of Bagdad, starts with a slightly comical overture. By contrast, both the composer Tan Dan and string virtuoso Xu Fengxia, who artfully performs the solo part of Dan’s Concerto for Zheng and String Orchestra, originate from the Middle Kingdom.

Subject to change!

Tickets 36 € · 29 € · 24 € · 16 € · 14 € · 12 € plus 10% advance booking fee
Discount per ticket 3 €